Is she or isn’t she?

For the past month or so, I’ve been going through the awkward “Is she…?” phase. That’s when people stare at your belly and wonder if you’ve been overloading on doughnuts or are pregnant. This often occurs at places I frequent: Starbucks, the farmers market, or the gym where people see me on a regular basis but are not comfortable enough to come out and ask. Normally, it doesn’t bother me except at the gym. I work out at the university’s gym alongside students. I was able to camouflage the belly for a while and go unnoticed. However, the students are finally catching on and seem a bit disturbed to see a pregnant girl trucking on the treadmill. In response, I’ve been looking for one of these:

This is my favorite, although I KNOW Joshua will not be able to resist doing the Pillsbury doughboy “Tee-hee!”

This one would be appropriate at 9 months…

Here’s the winner for the gym…

Or this one….

Joshua would be thrilled if I bought this one:

The way I figure it, if I am going to be stared at, I may as well have some fun with it. That way, it satisfies everyone’s curiosity and I can continue my workout without people watching me out of the corner of their eye.

– SM

Leave a Reply

