Baby Momma Yoga

Today I attended a “baby momma yoga” class for pregnant woman and moms with young babies. A friend of mine invited me to it, and since I love yoga and there was going to be free coffee, I was eager to go. It’s still hard to mentally put myself in the “pregnancy” category, let alone a future mother. After 27 weeks, you would think I had accepted the idea, but I’m slow. I had the same problem accepting the “Mrs.” title- I loved being married, but disliked being called Mrs. because it made me feel old. But that’s another story.

So I went to the class and was greeted by several attractive young mommies and pregnant women. When the class started, the moms with babies were instructed on how to incorporate their babies into the yoga routine. I’ve done yoga for years, and was interested to see how this would go. One of the first poses was the cat-cow. For those you of who are not familiar with yoga, it looks like this:

Cat

Cow

It’s a great stretch, although I feel bad for those with the view behind me. The moms were instructed to place the baby on their back, so they can look up at mommy while they did the pose. So far, so good. Then, the instructor suggested that the moms could make cat (meow) cow (moo) noises to entertain their baby. Much to my shock, many moms did. So it went something like this: breath in… “meow, meow, meow, meow, meow” and breathe out…. “moooooooooooo.” At this point, I am thanking the Lord that I do not have a baby yet. The next part though, surprised me: the babies love it! The baby next to me looked at his mom as if she was the coolest thing in the world. My shock slowly turned to amusement, and I strangely could picture myself doing the same thing one day. It’s amazing what motherhood will do to you. Poor William.

Leave a Reply

